VIPKID: How do I pass the Interview and Demo Class?

Simple answer. PREPARE.

The interview was the most nerve wracking part of this process for me. I had never done anything like this before. It almost felt dirty, performing in front of a camera for someone halfway around the world. I had worked myself all up…and I shouldn’t have. Here is what will happen.

The Steps:

  1. You will receive an email congratulating you on making it to the next step, and then receive instructions on how to schedule the interview and first demo class. You will have several options, but try to do it as quickly as possible. Remember, *most* of the interviewers are in Beijing, so *most* of the times will be early mornings and late night. (They have started having a few American folks do the interview since I applied last month, so you might get lucky and score a normal time.)
  2. Make sure you review the material that they provide for you. You will immediately have access to the power point slides you will be teaching from. USE THE MATERIAL THEY GIVE YOU IN THE PORTAL. DO NOT WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE. GO OVER IT AGAIN AND AGAIN. You will be teaching a lesson that targets a very young child with little or NO English ability. Keep that in mind as you prepare. Practice your pacing. Time yourself. Watch yourself teach (even if you just open the camera on  your computer.).  Watch other VIPKID teachers on Youtube (but be careful which ones…some are not so good…I will share a list of the good ones later on). Have some props. Nothing crazy. All I had was a whiteboard, a stuffed animal, and some dollar store flashcards. For my interview, I had also already set up a small, plain background with some good lighting. Get AN ORANGE SHIRT. Go to Goodwill. Spend a dollar. Wear it backwards if you can’t find one without a logo. That’s what I did (and still do now that I am teaching). It is VIPKID’s official color. If you look like you already have the job, chances are you will project that during the interview and demo class.
  3. The interview will be a total of 30 minutes. You will not have access to the actual teaching platform until about an hour before your interview time (or so they say). I was able to access it four hours early. Your email should have given you a .pdf with detailed instructions on how to get into the platform and use it! Get in there as soon as you can. TEST YOUR EQUIPMENT. Practice things like clicking through the slides, drawing lines and circling on the slides. This is an important skill to demonstrate. The first half of the interview will be basic interview questions…Nothing hard. “Tell me about your education” and “Tell me about your experience with children” were the only two things my interviewer asked me. I had a young Chinese man interview me. They are stationed in a busy call center with many distractions. He looked like he couldn’t WAIT for me to stop talking. Don’t let this intimidate you (because in the last half of the interview he has to pretend to be a 5 year old child in your class). SMILE. Bring lots of energy and animation. Talk at length about your experience with children. For the second half of the interview,  you will present the sample lesson as your interviewer takes on the role of a small Chinese child. My interviewer was easy going and did not give me a hard time. Greet your “student” warmly. Speak slowly. Be energetic! Remember to use SIMPLE LANGUAGE. Try not to add any words that are not on the slides. Use lots of hand gestures, and give praise often. Use the reward system. When I did my interview, you had to draw teeth on a smiley face. Some people may tell you to use your own reward system…Don’t go there yet. Keep it as simple for yourself as possible right now. Try to relax and have fun.
  4. If they cut you off towards the end, don’t worry. They have to keep a tight schedule, and you will (hopefully) soon find out that staying on schedule is a very important part of VIPKID. They will ask if you have any questions. This is your chance to ask anything you want about the company, the process, or even how you did! At the very end, they MIGHT ask you how much money you would like to make per hour. I have heard reports both ways. They asked me, and I told them. I got exactly what I asked for. Obviously, don’t tell them something ridiculous like $40/hour. The current range is $14-$22/ hour. Be sure you justify the amount that you wish to make with your experience. For example, “I would like to make $XX/ hour because_______________________.”.
  5. And that’s it. A little preparation will go a long way in this process.  You will do a lot of work to get hired, but then it will be smooth sailing!

After the interview is over, it could take up to 48 hours to hear anything from the company. I got the results in my email within an hour. They will provide a rubric with what you did well, and where to improve if you advance to the Mock 1 Class. Keep in mind, the Demo Class is where the majority of your points are scored from, WHICH DETERMINES  HOW MUCH MONEY THEY WILL OFFER YOU. Many people with advanced degrees have failed the interview due to lack of preparation for what VIPKID expects. They have standards and a company philosophy just like any other job you have worked at, and you must conform to those standards if you want to survive.

Here are some videos that I found extremely helpful, and in my OPINION, give a good idea of what the company is looking for. These three teachers all have different styles, so you can see some variety and different ways to do things. Click the links below to watch!

Nancy Taylor, Hope Williams, and Jennie Anderson are amazing!

 

So you got that happy email? Find out about the Mock 1 experience next time!

Interested in starting the process? CLICK HERE to apply!

 

Leave a Reply

