VIPKID: How do I apply?

So I clicked that annoying Facebook ad. The initial application process is simple. You must complete a short form that basically only asks for your level of education and experience working with children. I honestly put less than five seconds of thought into my application because I still wasn’t convinced that it was a legitimate offer.

The Application Requirements:

  • You need a Bachelor’s degree. It can be in anything. Seriously.
  • You must have some type experience working with children. Again, this can be ANYTHING. Babysitting, Sunday school, volunteer work…heck, even just being a mom would qualify.
  • You need a webcam, a headset, and good internet. (I got a headset for $7 off of Amazon that has worked perfectly.)
  • The last thing that they stress is that you must be able to work some pretty strange hours. It is no longer a company requirement that you work a certain number of *peak time* shifts, but it is definitely recommended if you ever want to teach a class…especially in the beginning.
  • And that’s it. Really.

Somehow, with the bare minimum of information that I included, I received an email invitation for an interview within one hour of submitting my application. I was so excited! Until I realized this meant an awkward conversation over a webcam to sell myself as the perfect VIPKID teacher.

On the next episode…I tell you how I got through the interview and demo class, and then passed my Mock Class on the first try (which is apparently next to impossible to achieve).

Leave a Reply

