VIPKID: What is it?

One day (very recently) I was stressing about money. I have a new baby. I am the only source of income for the two of us. The medical bills are piling up. Not to mention I live in the most wonderful country in the world…which means the three months maternity leave I took were unpaid. I am also a teacher in the most wonderful country in the world. I am hurting for cash.

So what did I do? I wasted precious hours of my life watching other people’s happy, care-free lives unfold on Facebook, wishing I had been financially responsible much sooner in my life. Suddenly, I noticed one of those ANNOYING Facebook ads…It was for a company called VIPKID. They were offering $14-$22/hour for online English tutoring…Hmmmmm…No way this is legit. Googled it. High ratings. Hmmmmmm…Alright Facebook.

I clicked the link…and things got even better. The hours are crazy. But crazy PERFECT for me. Since the children you teach are in China, you have to teach during peak hours in their time zone (if you want to get any classes booked). I am in CST, so our peak hours are 5AM-9AM during the week and 8PM-9AM on Friday and Saturday.

Why is this perfect, you say? My baby is 5 months old, and I want to spend every minute I can with him. This job allows me to work before he wakes up and after he goes to sleep. I don’t need to worry about putting him in daycare while I work over the summer. I don’t have to find an employer who is sympathetic to a nursing mother determined to pump milk for her baby as long as possible. Plus I am a teacher already so it would not be a significant amount of extra training…

Next time…What happened when I clicked “Apply”.

 

Are you interested in applying? Click here to apply and receive a $25 referral bonus upon hire.

Leave a Reply

