The Quest for the Perfect Side Job

I am interested in too many things. I dabble here and there, and stumble across some good opportunities along the way.  Even my current teaching position was obtained by pure chance in an email from an alternative teaching certification program that I was no longer active in.

After college, I tried really really REALLY hard to maintain a job in my field of study. Art degrees, am I right?  Basically, this meant spending several years barely making more than minimum wage for various sign shops and small photography studios. Making a decent living meant keeping up at least one part time job on the side. Unfortunately, even with all of that working, I still managed to run  up a pretty penny’s worth of credit card bills and other debt associated with being a young, uninsured artist. YOLO, they said…Do it big, they say…And I did it. All of it. But they forgot to tell me I would eventually have to pay for it.

I have had some pretty decent side gigs and I have had some pretty shady ones too. I have freelanced design and photography. I have waited tables. I have done BPO photography (which required creeping down people’s streets to take photographs of their soon to be foreclosed homes). I have done transcription and captioning work. I have graded standardized test essays. I plan to elaborate on all of these in a later post.

My most current side job conquest seems to be the best so far. It’s a company called VIPKID. It seems kind of corny at first, but I got hired and I am actually really excited about it. The job is teaching English to young students in China online. I can literally work in my pajama pants. Which is great considering my new working hours are during times normal human beings are asleep. It really is wonderful for me though. As a mother who is nursing a young baby, my options for a decent wage are limited. I can’t really stop in the middle of a restaurant shift to pump milk for my baby (who would have to be in daycare that I couldn’t afford to pay for). VIPKID lets me set up my own hours and my own schedule. I can work while the baby sleeps, and have my summer days free to spend with him. Did I mention the pay is great?

This will be my first full week of classes since being hired in April, and I am planning to document this journey in the months to come. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

